You are here: Home > About Us > About the District
Have a Question or Comment? Let us know!

About the District

The Cuyahoga County Solid Waste District is one of 52 solid waste management districts created by Ohio’s counties following the passage of the Ohio Solid Waste Disposal Act in 1988.  This law required districts to prepare and implement plans to reduce the amount of waste disposed in Ohio’s landfills by increasing recycling and waste reduction activities statewide. The District is governed by a Board of Directors and is advised by a Solid Waste Policy Committee which oversees the implementation of the Cuyahoga County Solid Waste Management Plan. The District is funded by a “generation fee” which is a $1.50 fee levied on each ton of solid waste generated in Cuyahoga County and landfilled in Ohio.  No fees are levied on waste that is recycled or composted.

Programs & Services

The Cuyahoga County Solid Waste District works to support environmentally-sustainable and economical solid waste management practices within the communities, institutions and businesses of Cuyahoga County.  The District offers the following services designed to increase recycling opportunities, divert waste from landfills, promote environmental awareness, and support local recycling-based businesses. 

Business Recycling Assistance & Seminars Household Hazardous Waste Disposal
Children's Education Programs & Classroom Presentations Litter Collection Program
Clean Up, Green Up Seminars Recycle Your Computer Month
Composting Seminars & Compost Bin Sales Recycling & Composting Workshops
Contract Assistance for Local Governments Recycling Information, Brochures & Speakers
Elect to Recycle: Campaign Sign Recycling Recycling Market Development
Electronics Recycling Scrap Tire Round-Up
Grant Programs Special Recycling Events
Holiday Lights Recycling Program Waste & Recycling Cooperatives

Solid Waste District Board of Directors

Armond Budish, County Executive
Sunny Simon, County Council
Bonnie Teeuwen, Director of Public Works

Solid Waste Policy Committee

Mr. Nathan Kelly, Chair, County Representative                
Mr. Freddy Collier, City of Cleveland 
Mayor Michael Procuk, Village of Brooklyn Heights                 
Mayor Eileen Patton, City of Fairview Park
Mayor Vic Collova, City of Garfield Heights
Mayor Sherri Lippus, Township of Olmsted                    
Mayor Michael Byrne, City of Parma Heights                                    
Mayor Merle Gordon, City of Beachwood
Mayor Susan Infeld, City of University Heights
Ms. Virginia Aveni, Public Representative                  
Business Representative (vacant)
County Representative (vacant)
Ms. Sunny Simon, County Representative

Calendar of Events

Household Hazardous Waste Disposal Program
City Service Departments

August 1-31, 2015
Recycle Your Computer Month
City Service Departments

August 9, 2015
Freecycle event
Bexley Park, South Euclid

September 1, 2015
Compost Seminar & Bin Sale
Cuyahoga County Administration Bldg.

September 7, 2015
Holiday -- County offices closed

September 19, 2015
Habitat ReStore Tool Drive/Community Collection
Rocky River

September 23, 2015
Compost Seminar & Bin Sale

September 24, 2015
Waste & Recycling $ense for Business seminar
Garfield Heights

September 27, 2015
Habitat ReStore Tool Drive/Community Collection


Register for our e-newsletter